Anna Chapin – 2017 Winnebago County 4-H Key Award Recipient


Anna is a 12-year member of Newcomers 4-H Club where she has served in multiple club officer positions, currently as President of the club. Omro High School teacher, Kayla Goranson says “Anna is an incredibly mature, driven, creative, hard-working student. She is always a positive contributor to class and a variety of clubs. I cannot think of a more deserving and well-rounded individual for this award.” 4-H Leader Sheri Egan says “I have watched her (Anna’s) leadership qualities grow so much over the years…Anna is a positive, responsible youth lady with a bright future ahead of her.” Anna says that 4-H has helped her gain self-confidence and develop her communication skills. “It’s because of the (4-H) slogan ‘the power of YOUth,’ that my life has turned down a road I never thought it would. I would never have dreamed to be where I am today or have accomplished the things I have.” Anna participates in a number of 4-H project areas: art, communications, sheep and youth leadership. Anna has been a 4-H Ambassador and Camp Counselor. At the state/national level, Anna has represented Winnebago County at State 4-H Conference, American Spirit Experience, Citizenship Washington Focus and Space Camp. Anna has given back to her community by volunteering at a local Food Pantry, serving meals to veterans, and volunteering at a local senior center. Anna has worked for the YMCA for the last 2 years and is also involved in her church, many clubs at her school, and in dance, softball and soccer. Anna has just completed her CNA to be a Certified Nursing Assistant and would like to pursue nursing as a career.

The prestigious Key Award, one of the highest recognitions a 4-H member can receive, honors a select group of 4-H participants annually. The youth receiving this award are ones who have demonstrated consistent growth in their 4-H involvement, developed and applied their leadership skills, and actively participated in their club and community.

Key Award recipients are junior/senior high school students with at least three years of experience in 4-H and one year as a youth leader. The Wisconsin Farm Bureau and Rural Mutual Insurance Company sponsor the Wisconsin 4-H Key Award program. They have sponsored these awards for over 25 years, helping 4-H to honor some of Wisconsin’s finest youth.


Sharing is Caring - Click Below to Share